The Brown Eyed Dreamer

'Fill your paper with the breathings of your heart.' William Wordsworth

Sleepy Eyes

Leave a comment

We were all sharing a bed, trying vaguely to fall asleep. Everyone else seemed alive, but I was slowly fading, and my eyes were becoming heavier with every second. So tired from staying up all night, I allowed my head to droop down and lean against whatever it fell. It happened to fall on your chest, finding the nook in your neck that was so comfortable to lie in. I snuggled in, my sleepiness ensuring that I felt no embarrassment. And instead of pulling away, you acted in a way which surprised me, but was exactly what I was hoping for.

Your arm curled round my back, pulling me in closer, a knight protecting his princess. Your hand found its way around my waist, your fingers placed lightly on my hips. I curled into you, allowing myself to get as close as possible. Your fingers traced circles on my hips, resting delicately as feathers on my skin. I placed my hand on your chest, and your hand touched mine. A quick brush of fingers, a thousand butterflies waking up and exploding inside me. Looking up at you with sleepy eyes and a small smile, I realised your expression mirrored mine.  And in that moment, I knew this summer would be one to remember.

 

Author: thebrowneyeddreamer

Teenage girl from the mysterious, rainy land of Northern Ireland, obsessed with music, France and movies. I like to write books and poetry when I can get my head out of the clouds.

Leave a Reply

